Norman G. Lederman



Dr. Norman G. Lederman is Chair and Distinguished Professor of Mathematics and Science Education at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Dr. Lederman received his Ph.D. in Science Education and he possesses MS degrees in both Biology and Secondary Education. Prior to his 30 + years in science teacher education, Dr. Lederman was a high school teacher of biology and chemistry for 10 years.

He received the Illinois Outstanding Biology Teacher Award (1979), the Burlington Resources Foundation Faculty Achievement Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research (1992),  AETS Outstanding Mentor Award (2000), and the National Association for Research in Science Teaching Award for Outstanding JRST  Paper (2001).

Dr. Lederman is internationally known for his research and scholarship on the development of students’ and teachers’ conceptions of the nature of science and scientific inquiry. He has been author or editor of 10 books, written 15 book chapters, published over 250 articles in professional journals, and made over 500 presentations at professional conferences around the world. He is the Co-Editor of Handbook of Research on Science Education ( Volumes I & 2). Additionally, he served as Editor for School Science and Mathematics for 10 years and Co-Editor (along with Judith Lederman) of the Journal of Science Teacher Education

Dr. Lederman is a former President of the National Association for Research in Science Teaching (NARST) and the Association for the Education of Teachers in Science (AETS). He has also served as Director of Teacher Education for the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), and has served on the Board of Directors of NSTA, AETS, NARST, and the School Science and Mathematics Association. He was awarded an honorary PhD from Stockholm University in 2008. He received a Fullbright Fellowhip in 2009 to work in South Africa. Most recently, he has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Educational Research Association, and has received the Distinguished Career Award from the National Association for Research in Science Teaching.